When They Say You’re Doing Well And Really I’m Not Okay

When they tell you how you are and get it all wrong

MentalDessert
4 min readSep 15, 2022
Photo by Mitchell Hollander on Unsplash

It’s funny when friends tell you you’re doing well and you are so much worse. I correct people because not being okay is a part of me. I’m not here to pretend strength when I don’t have it. I’m that person who wants my poetry to strip away pretense until we just say shit. Say how you are. You don’t have to get into the details. But express, “hey, this isn’t a good day, and no, I don’t want to talk about it.”

I’ve been told in work situations that I made people take back their power of saying no. Co-workers would ask about my personal life, am I single was one of my most hated questions, coupled with anything to do with my weight, and I’d tell them the truth. It’s none of your business. I choose not to share this information with you, and you don’t get a right to it just because you asked.

My co-workers hated this part of me. Several even told me my personal life wasn’t that important, and they didn’t understand my privacy. My question back to them is if it isn’t essential, why are you asking me? And getting offended by this boundary, I put up for you not to cross.

Tell Someone Not To Do Something, And They’ll Do It

--

--

MentalDessert

I'm unapologetically me with a hard edged view of life. I love to travel and have crazy amounts of fun spaced between quiet moments.