Will You Ever Love Me Again?

Maybe don’t answer that question

MentalDessert
2 min readSep 27, 2022
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

Will you ever love me again? I want to ask but I don’t want to know. Because if it’s no, if it’s there’s nothing, not even friendship that’s left for you, for us, I don’t know what to do with that but spiral.

In relationship aftermath I don’t expect the other person to be there. I expect us to part from each other, never speak again, see each other, it’s like they become an apparition. Except this time feels more like a haunting. Everything aches, I’m possessed with how I couldn’t do anything to keep us going.

When you finally love yourself

When you know that this is the most confident, most friends, most sure of yourself you’ve ever been why they need to leave is less clear. Before I could spiral into self-hatred, self-inflicted pain of drinking too much, staying out too late, or working too much to numb it. To create a salve for me to survive.

I’ve never done friendship with an ex. I’ve tried with one of my firsts, a sweet bisexual man that exalted me and adored me. I fell for him because it felt so good to be loved and just held like I was something precious. But, the love he had for me wasn’t the same for what I had for him. I decided for us to end and when we continued with a “friendship” that ended when he…

--

--

MentalDessert

I'm unapologetically me with a hard edged view of life. I love to travel and have crazy amounts of fun spaced between quiet moments.